AHCA Coaches’ Awards Announced

The American Hockey Coaches Association has announced its annual awards for contributions to amateur hockey. This year’s recipients include three from U.S. colleges.

Steve Cady of Miami received the Jim Fullerton Award, given to a special contributor to ice hockey — coach, fan, journalist or official — who captures the pure love of the game exemplified by the former Brown head coach. Cady coached at Miami from 1976 to 1985 and was responsible for taking the program from club hockey to the Division I level. Cady currently serves as associate athletic director at Miami.

The John MacInnes Award, presented to the head coach who has had exceptional success with athletes on and off the ice, went to Ed Saugestad of Augsburg. Saugestad compiled 503 career wins in his 37 seasons (1958-1996) behind the bench at Augsburg, second only to Don Roberts of Gustavus Adolphus among Division III coaches. He was a three-time NAIA Coach of the Year and his teams were three-time NAIA national champions.

Kevin Houle of Plattsburgh was the recipient of the Terry Flanagan Award, named for the former Bowling Green assistant coach, and recognizing a career body of work from an assistant. Houle has spent the last 13 years with Plattsburgh despite opportunities to pursue other head coaching positions. Over his tenure, the team has compiled a 304-87-27 record and captured two NCAA Division III championships.

In addition, Bette Blair of USA Hockey was honored with the Joe Burke Award for contribution to women’s ice hockey; Gary Dineen of the Springfield ‘Pics/New England Coyotes was named recipient of the John “Snooks” Kelley Founders Award for contributions to the growth of U.S. hockey; and Lou Cotroneo of St. Paul (Minn.) High School was named the winner of the John Mariucci Award, which recognizes a top high school coach.

All awards will be presented at the annual AHCA Coach of the Year Banquet on Saturday, April 27, at the Naples Beach Hotel and Golf Club in Naples, Fla.