Hockey Humanitarian Nominees Announced

The Hockey Humanitarian Award Foundation announced the 15 nominees for the 2003 Hockey Humanitarian Award today.

The nominees are:

Jennifer Agnew, Sr., Vermont, Sabattus, Me.

Rachel Barrie, Jr., St. Lawrence, Arnprior, Ont.

Stacey Bauman, Sr., Yale, Hanover, Ont.

Mike Betz, Jr., Ohio State, Elizabeth, N.Y.

Brad Fast, Sr., Michigan State, St. John, B.C.

John Flint, Sr., St. Michael’s, Stowe, Vt.

Patrick Foley, Sr., New Hampshire, Milton, Mass.

Chanda Gunn, Jr., Northeastern, Huntington Beach, Calif.

Bryan Isola, Sr., Neumann, Kennett Square, Pa.

Deanna McDevitt, Sr., Yale, South Boston, Mass.

Sam Paolini, Sr., Cornell, Rochester, N.Y.

Chantelle Russell, Sr., Findlay, Midland, Mich.

Kristin Sahlem, Sr., Manhattanville, West Seneca, N.Y.

John Wroblewski, Sr., Notre Dame, Neenah, Wisc.

Maris Ziedins, Sr., St. Norbert, Talsi, Latvia

The Hockey Humanitarian Award recognizes college hockey’s finest citizen for their contributions to society in all areas.

This will be the eighth year the Award has been presented. Boston University goalie J.P. McKersie received the initial Humanitarian Award in 1996. University of Michigan defenseman Blake Sloan was the 1997 recipient, while University of Wisconsin’s Erik Raygor was the 1998 Humanitarian. In 1999, Rochester Institute of Technology defenseman Kristine Pierce became the first woman, and first non-Division 1 player to receive the Award. The University of Maine’s Jim Leger won the Award in 2000, Jason Cupp from the University of Nebraska-Omaha was the 2001 recipient and Rockey Reeves from Buffalo State was the 2002 honoree.

The Humanitarian will be presented in Buffalo, N.Y. on April 11, along with the Hobey Baker Award and the Town Hall Meeting.

For more information on the Hockey Humanitarian Award go to