Colorado College Leads Way With Four All-Americans

The 2002-03 JOFA All-American teams are a picture of change, with only four returning selections among the 24 named Wednesday by the American Hockey Coaches Association.

“Hobey Hat Trick” finalists Peter Sejna of Colorado College; Chris Kunitz of Ferris State; and David LeNeveu of Cornell were all named First-Team All-Americans.

They join repeat First-Teamer Doug Murray of Cornell and Michigan State’s John-Michael Liles and Boston College’s Ben Eaves, both of whom moved up from the 2001-02 Second Team. Colin Hemingway of New Hampshire, a First-Team pick last season, appears on this year’s Second Team.

Colorado College led all teams with four All-Americans, including three First-Team selections. Frozen Four participants Cornell and New Hampshire had three selections apiece, and Cornell and Ferris State each had two First-Team picks.

Seven of the 24 All-Americans play for teams which will appear in the Frozen Four Thursday, and a total of 21 played in this year’s NCAA tournament.

The players recognized include 11 seniors, seven juniors, and six sophomores. Twelve players come from the United States, 10 from Canada, one from Slovakia, and one from Sweden.

JOFA All-American First Teams


F Ben Eaves, JR, Boston College
F Chris Higgins, SO, Yale
F Dominic Moore, SR, Harvard
D Freddy Meyer, SR, Boston University
D Doug Murray, SR, Cornell
G David LeNeveu, SO, Cornell


F Noah Clarke, Colorado College
F Chris Kunitz, Ferris State
F Peter Sejna, Colorado College
D John-Michael Liles, Michigan State
D Tom Preissing, Colorado College
G Mike Brown, Ferris State

JOFA All-American Second Teams


F Stephen Baby, SR, Cornell
F Lanny Gare, SR, New Hampshire
F Colin Hemingway, SR, New Hampshire
D J.D. Forrest, JR, Boston College
D Noah Welch, SO, Harvard
G Mike Ayers, JR, New Hampshire


F Shane Joseph, JR, Minnesota State
F Grant Stevenson, SO, Minnesota State
F R.J. Umberger, JR, Ohio State
D Brad Fast, SR, Michigan State
D Paul Martin, JR, Minnesota
G Curtis McElhinney, SO, Colorado College