Early Departures

Running list of Division I men’s players who have left school before graduating, since the end of the 2002-03 season. “Yr.” indicates the player’s most recent season.

School              Player           Yr.    Status
Boston University   Justin Maiser    So.    left for major junior
Clarkson            Randy Jones      So.    signed with Philadelphia (NHL)
Colorado College    Peter Sejna      Jr.    signed with St. Louis (NHL)
Cornell             Dave LeNeveu     So.    signed with Phoenix (NHL)
Maine               Francis Nault    Jr.    lost final year of eligibility
Mass.-Lowell        Dominic Smart    Fr.    left school
Michigan            Danny Richmond   Fr.    left for major junior
Minnesota           Paul Martin      Jr.    signed with New Jersey (NHL)
Minnesota           Travis Weber     So.    left school
Minnesota State     Grant Stevenson  So.    signed with San Jose (NHL)
Nebraska-Omaha      Dan Ellis        Jr.    signed with Dallas (NHL)
North Dakota        David Hale       Jr.    signed with New Jersey (NHL)
Northern Michigan   Juha Alen        Fr.    signed with Anaheim (NHL)
Notre Dame          Yan Stastny      So.    rookie camp with Boston (NHL)
Ohio State          Ryan Kesler      Fr.    signed with Vancouver (NHL)
Ohio State          R.J. Umberger    Jr.    negotiating with Vancouver (NHL)
Princeton           James Fitzpatrick So.   left team
St. Cloud State     Jonathan Lehun   Fr.    left for major junior
St. Cloud State     Brian Schuster   Jr.    left school
St. Cloud State     Jeff Finger      Jr.    left school
Wisconsin           Alex Leavitt     So.    left for major junior
Yale                Chris Higgins    So.    signed with Montreal (NHL)

Players to Watch

Prominent underclassmen USCHO is keeping an eye on to see if they turn pro. Year listed is one just completed.

School              Player           Yr.    Status
Boston University   Ryan Whitney     So.    Drafted -- Pittsburgh, 1st (5th), 2002


Players who have transferred this offseason, and will therefore be eligible in Sept. 2004 (does not include
Fairfield and Iona players who are immediately eligible due to those schools dropping their program).

Name                        To                   From
Ben Lovejoy, D              Dartmouth            Boston College
Paul Lynch, D               Massachusetts        Maine
Carson Strang, F            Union                Air Force
Justin Tobe, G              Harvard              Michigan State

Coaching Changes

School             New Coach           Old Coach             Reason for Departure
Clarkson           George Roll         Fred Parker           Interim
Findlay            Pat Ford            Craig Barnett         Left for Lake Forest Academy (prep)
Michigan Tech      Jamie Russell       Mike Sertich          Retired
Union              Nate Leaman         Kevin Sneddon         Left for Vermont
Vermont            Kevin Sneddon       Mike Gilligan         Retired

Connecticut Coll.  Jim Ward            Doug Roberts          Retired
Framingham State   TBA                 Bob Lavin             Left for Natick HS
Johnson & Wales    Eric Noack          Lou Izzi              Resigned
Middlebury         Bill Beaney         Neil Sinclair         Interim
Oswego State       Ed Gosek            George Roll           Left for Clarkson
Plymouth State     Brett Tryder        Chris Hudon           Resigned
Wesleyan           Buddy Powers        Dave Snyder           Retired

Amherst            Jim Plumer          Kay Cowperthwait      Resigned
Boston College     Tom Mutch           Tom Babson            Retired
Bowdoin            Kevin McGonagle     Michele Amidon        One year leave of absence
Dartmouth          Mark Hudak          Judy Parish Oberting  Resigned
Elmira             Paul Nemetz-Carlson Jamie Wood            Took position in Canada
Plattsburgh        Kevin Houle         Scott Dockett         Resigned
Sacred Heart       Tom O'Malley        Ed Bourget            Resigned
Wayne State        Jim Fetter          Tom O'Malley          Contract not renewed
Williams           Neil Sinclair       Joseph Milan          Resigned
Wis.-Superior      Dan Laughlin        Dean Reed             Relocating to Canada