Four Cities Land Frozen Four

USCHO has confirmed that four cities will be awarded the Frozen Four in an announcement scheduled for this afternoon.

Washington, D.C., Detroit, St. Paul and Tampa will be awarded the Frozen Four for the years 2009-2012.

The NCAA Ice Hockey Committee was to have only awarded 2009-2011, but decided to add 2012 in this year’s process.

The last time the committee added an extra year was when it awarded Buffalo (2003) in addition to [nl]Providence (2000), Albany (2001) and St. Paul (2002).

Check back with USCHO for more details as it emerges.