USCHO awards: Five schools land two players on 2012-13 All-USCHO teams

In 2012, Boston College had four players on the All-USCHO teams. A year later, things were much more spread out.

Five teams had two players selected for the 2012-13 All-USCHO teams, with no repeat honorees from last season.

Frozen Four semifinalists Massachusetts-Lowell and St. Cloud State were among those teams, along with Boston College, North Dakota and St. Lawrence.

The 2012-13 All-USCHO first team is:

Goaltender Eric Hartzell, a senior from Quinnipiac
Defenseman Chad Ruhwedel, a junior from Massachusetts-Lowell
Defenseman Jacob Trouba, a freshman from Michigan
Forward Kyle Flanagan, a senior from St. Lawrence
Forward Johnny Gaudreau, a sophomore from Boston College
Forward Danny Kristo, a senior from North Dakota

The 2012-13 All-USCHO second team is:

Goaltender Connor Hellebuyck, a freshman from Massachusetts-Lowell
Defenseman Nick Bailen, a senior from Rensselaer
Defenseman Nick Jensen, a junior from St. Cloud State
Forward Greg Carey, a junior from St. Lawrence
Forward Drew LeBlanc, a senior from St. Cloud State
Forward Steven Whitney, a senior from Boston College

The 2012-13 All-USCHO third team is:

Goaltender Brady Hjelle, a senior from Ohio State
Defenseman Shayne Gostisbehere, a sophomore from Union
Defenseman Trevor van Riemsdyk, a sophomore from New Hampshire
Forward Corban Knight, a senior from North Dakota
Forward Anders Lee, a junior from Notre Dame
Forward Andrew Miller, a senior from Yale

ECAC Hockey led the way with six players among the 18 selected, with five of the 12 league teams represented.

Hockey East had five players picked, while four came from the WCHA and three from the CCHA.

The All-USCHO teams were chosen by U.S. College Hockey Online’s Division I men’s conference columnists after the Frozen Four. Individual awards for the rookie, coach and player of the year will be unveiled later this week.