Eight conferences and 19 schools represented on All-USCHO D-III teams

[photoshelter-gallery g_id=”G0000cPvIEOlQ39o” g_name=”D-III-All-USCHO-Teams” f_show_caption=”t” f_show_slidenum=”t” img_title=”casc” pho_credit=”iptc” f_link=”t” f_bbar=”t” fsvis=”f” width=”500″ height=”375″ bgcolor=”#AAAAAA” bgtrans=”t” btype=”old” bcolor=”#CCCCCC” crop=”f” trans=”xfade” tbs=”4000″ f_ap=”t” linkdest=”c” f_fullscreen=”f” f_constrain=”f” twoup=”f” f_topbar=”f” f_bbarbig=”” f_htmllinks=”f” f_enable_embed_btn=”f” f_show_watermark=”f” f_send_to_friend_btn=”f” f_smooth=”f” f_mtrx=”f” f_up=”f” target=”_self” wmds=”llQ6QNgpeC.p1Ucz7U.f0Men9h89EB3N.G1_Mk0IsqJcDxfJuXip8WacEk2XLtDosNlNSQ–” ]

Players representing 19 schools were named to the 2016-17 All-USCHO D-III teams. UMass Boston placed the most with three players, followed by NCAA D-III National Champion Norwich with two, Endicott with two, and the University of New England with two.

Eight of the 10 D-III conferences placed a player on the teams, with seven of those eight placing multiple players. The Commonwealth Coast Conference, NEHC, NCHA, and WIAC each had players from three teams represented.

Leading the way on the first team was Sid Watson Award winner Evan Buitenhuis of Hamilton, who posted a 1.78 goals-against average and .941 save percentage while going 17-5-4 on the season and being named to the AHCA All-American First Team East. Also on the first team were USCHO player of the year and Sid Watson Award runner-up Stephen Collins of Geneseo at forward, AHCA All-American First Team East and CCC player of the year Brady Fleurent of the University of New England, who led the country in scoring, and AHCA All-American First Team West forward Lawrence Cornellier of Wisconsin-Stevens Point. Rounding out the first team on defense were AHCA All-American First Team West defenseman Cory Dunn of Adrian, who was second in scoring among defensemen nationally to the other All-USCHO First Team defenseman, Logan Day of Endicott, who was an AHCA All-American Second Team East and made the All-CCC First Team.

The All-USCHO teams are voted on by the editor and writers.

First team
F: Stephen Collins (Geneseo), Lawrence Cornellier (Wisconsin-Stevens Point), Brady Fleurent (University of New England)
D: Cory Dunn (Adrian), Logan Day (Endicott)
G: Evan Buitenhuis (Hamilton)

Second team
F: Colin Larkin (UMass Boston), Patrick Moore (Wisconsin-Eau Claire), William Pelletier (Norwich)
D: Cody Smith (Norwich), Stephen Johnson (Oswego)
G: T.J. Black (St. Norbert)

Third team
F: Jory Mullin (Neumann), Jack Lewis (Lake Forest), Tommy Besinger (Endicott)
D: Rory Vesel (Augsburg), Tyler Bishop (UMass Boston)
G: Brett Kilar (New England College)

F: Ryan Bloom (University of New England), Ryan Cusin (UMass Boston), J.B. Baker (Nichols)
D: Cole Souto (St. John’s), Liam Feeney (Trinity)
G: Zach Quinn (Wisconsin-River Falls)