Semifinalists named for 2018 Mike Richter Award; DU’s Jaillet aims to be first two-time winner

Tanner Jaillet (Denver-36) 16 November 11 Denver University and University of North Dakota meet in a NCHC conference contest at Ralph Engelstad Arena (Bradley K. Olson)
Tanner Jaillet won the 2017 Mike Richter Award and is a semifinalist for the 2018 award as well (photo: Bradley K. Olson).

Denver’s Tanner Jaillet is among 10 semifinalists named Thursday for the 2018 Mike Richter Award, which honors the most outstanding goalie in college hockey.

After winning the 2017 award, Jaillet aims to become the first two-time winner in the five-year history of the award.

Candidates for the Mike Richter Award are nominated by all Division I coaches. The semifinalists and finalists are selected by a committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media.

Criteria for the award includes outstanding skills on the ice and good academic standing with special consideration given to academic achievement and community involvement.

Richter Award Finalists

Matthew Galajda – Cornell
Dávid Hrenák – St. Cloud State
Tanner Jaillet – Denver
Jake Kielly – Clarkson
Connor LaCouvee – Minnesota State
Cale Morris – Notre Dame
Colton Point – Colgate
Cayden Primeau – Northeastern
Sean Romeo – Ohio State
Hunter Shepard – Minnesota Duluth

The five finalists for the award will be announced on Thursday, March 22, with the winner presented on Friday, April 6, at the Frozen Four in St. Paul, Minn.