‘Tremendous’ Harvard blueliner Fox tabbed winner of 2019 Walter Brown Award

Adam Fox (Harvard - 18), Ken Citron (Colgate - 3) - The visiting Colgate University Raiders shut out the Harvard University Crimson for a 2-0 win on Saturday, January 27, 2018, at Bright-Landry Hockey Center in Boston, Massachusetts. (Melissa Wade)
Adam Fox leads Harvard in scoring this season with 48 points in 32 games (photo: Melissa Wade).

The Gridiron Club of Greater Boston announced Wednesday that Harvard junior defenseman Adam Fox is the winner of the 67th Walter Brown Award, presented annually to the best American-born college hockey player in New England.

Fox leads the Crimson in scoring with nine goals and 39 assists for 48 points in 32 games. He also topped all scorers in ECAC Hockey this year with 33 points in 22 games.

The other finalists for the 2019 Walter Brown Award are UMass senior forward Jacob Pritchard and Quinnipiac junior goalie Andrew Shortridge.

“I think we’re watching one of the best players that has ever worn the Harvard jersey,” Harvard coach Ted Donato said in a news release. “Adam Fox has been tremendous. He makes others around him better, he’s underrated defensively, and he never really gets down. Adam is a worthy recipient of the Walter Brown Award.”

“This is the first time that we’ve had a forward, a defenseman and a goalie as our three finalists for the Walter Brown Award,” added committee chairman Tim Costello, “And for the second year in a row, our winner’s name is Adam.”

Northeastern forward Adam Gaudette captured the award in 2018.

The nation’s oldest nationally-recognized college hockey honor, the Walter Brown Award was established in 1953 by the members of the 1933 Massachusetts Rangers, the first American team ever to win the World Championship Tournament. Brown coached the Rangers to the title in Prague, Czechoslovakia, where the team defeated Canada 2-1 in overtime in the championship game.

The formal presentation of the Walter Brown Award will take place at the New England College Hockey Writers’ Dinner in Saugus, Mass., on April 17.