Hamele Named SUNYAC Player of the Year

Fredonia goalie Will Hamele led the way with Player of the Year honors, as the SUNYAC announced its 2000-2001 awards today.

The sophomore Hamele ended the regular season with a 2.40 GAA and a .926 save percentage. Hamele was also named to the All-SUNYAC First Team.

Oswego’s Mike Lukajic took the Rookie of the Year honors. He scored 13 goals and four assists for 17 points in his first year.

Coach of the Year honors went to Cortland’s Tim Vanini, a Cornell alumnus. Vanini led the Red Dragons to their first conference postseason action since 1993. In his fourth year at the helm, Vanini guided Cortland to a 4-8-2 conference record, and 9-14-2 overall.

Plattsburgh led the way with players named to the All-SUNYAC teams. Forwards Brendon Hodge and Jason Kilcan, along with defenseman Bryan Murray, were named to the First Team. Goaltender Niklas Sundberg was named to the Second Team.

Oswego, Potsdam, Fredonia, and Geneseo each placed two players on the elite teams.


Name            School     Pos. Yr. Ht.  Wt. Hometown
Aaron Coleman Geneseo F Sr. 6-0 190 Buffalo, N.Y.
Brendon Hodge Plattsburgh F So. 6-2 196 Lynnfield, N.Y.
Jason Kilcan Plattsburgh F So. 5-8 182 London, Ont.
Bryan Murray Plattsburgh D Sr. 6-1 194 Barry's Bay, Ont.
Dave Weagle Potsdam D So. 5-11 180 Smith Falls, Ont.
Will Hamele Fredonia G So. 5-9 160 Dearborn, Mich.


Name            School     Pos. Yr. Ht.  Wt. Hometown/Last Team
Sean Darke Potsdam F Sr. 5-11 190 Grosse Pt. Park, Mich.
Derek Kern Oswego F Sr. 5-9 165 Kings Park, N.Y.
John Sullivan Oswego F Sr. 5-9 170 Suffern, N.Y.
B.J. Bouschor Fredonia D Sr. 5-10 165 Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.
Kyle Langdon Geneseo D Sr. 6-0 175 Rochester, N.Y.
Niklas Sundberg Plattsburgh G Jr. 6-3 220 Stockholm, Sweden

2000-01 Player of the Year: Will Hamele, Fredonia
2000-01 Rookie of the Year: Mike Lukajic, Oswego 2000-01
Coach of the Year: Tim Vanini, Cortland



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here