Finalists For AHCA D-III Players of the Year Announced

Returning finalists Jerry Galway and Niklas Sundberg highlight the group of finalists announced by the AHCA for its College Division Men’s Ice Hockey Player of the Year award.

All five 2002 finalists are seniors, keyed by RIT defenseman Galway, the 2001 runner-up, from RIT, and goaltender Sundberg of Plattsburgh. Joining those two as finalists are goaltender Christian Carlson, Middlebury; forward Mike Carosi, Bowdoin; and forward Tony Lawrence, St. Thomas.

The 2002 AHCA College Division Women’s Ice Hockey Player of the Year finalists have also been announced. The list is composed of players from all academic classes, including one freshman, a sophomore, a junior, and three seniors. The finalists are:

Colleen Baude (Sr, forward, RIT)
Shelly Chessie (Jr, forward, Bowdoin)
Catherine Elkins (Sr, defense, Middlebury)
Laura Hurd (Fr, forward, Elmira)
Sarah Moe (Sr, forward, Gustavus Adolphus)
Molly Wasserman (So, forward, Williams)

2002 is the third year that this award will be presented. Players from Middlebury have won both of the first two years.