2006 Concannon Award Semifinalists Announced

Gridiron Club of Greater Boston president George Crotty has announced the fifteen semifinalists for the sixth Joe Concannon Award, given annually to New England’s best American-born Division II/III college hockey player.

Four Concannon Award semifinalists from last season, all captains of their respective teams, head the field. Bowdoin College senior forward Adam Dann (Burlington, Vt.) posted 14 goals and 15 assists in leading the Polar Bears to the championship game of the NESCAC conference. Trinity College senior forward Cameron Finch (Acton, Mass.) collected 12 goals and 14 assists in leading the Bantams to the semifinals of the NESCAC tournament. Mass.-Dartmouth senior forward Eric Frank (Waltham, Mass.) posted 19 goals along with 19 assists despite a lot of extra attention from the opposition during the Corsairs’ 20-game win streak that brought the school the ECAC Northeast championship and first NCAA tournament bid. Babson College senior defenseman Tom Sullivan (Pembroke, MA) scored two goals and seven assists in anchoring the Beaver defense in a 17-win season that led to a semifinal berth in the ECAC East playoffs.

The NESCAC has a total of six Concannon Award candidates, including three other outstanding forwards and one all-around defenseman. Williams senior captain Kevin Child (Shelburne, Vt.) was second in team scoring with 11 goals and 18 assists for the Ephs, who finished a strong second in the conference. Senior power forward Matt McCarthy (Medfield, Mass.) led Tufts in goals, scoring 18 to go along with his 17 assists. McCarthy tallied eight power play goals and two shorthanded markers. Sophomore T.J. Kelley (Ridgefield, Conn.) led the Colby White Mules in scoring with 16 goals and 23 assists to help Colby to a fifteen-win season made difficult by injuries to several of the team’s members.

On defense, Trinity senior co-captain Brendan Timmins (Arlington, Mass.) collected eight goals and 12 assists while demonstrating great leadership on the ice, particularly during the Bantams’ strong second half.

From the ECAC East, junior defenseman Brett Smith (Hudson, Mass.) is one of two Division II players to make the slate of candidates. A three-year starter for St. Anselm College, Smith posted 11 goals and 26 assists in leading the Hawks to their second consecutive Northeast-10 Conference championship. For Norwich, senior defenseman and assistant captain Brian Mullally (Maynard, Mass.) made a major offensive contribution, chalking up six goals that included five power play scores plus 15 assists for the ECAC East champions. Displaying great maturity as a sophomore, Mike Carmody (Falmouth, Maine) was an offensive leader for New England College. Carmody had 16 goals and 18 assists in pacing the Pilgrims to a number five national ranking and the finals of the ECAC East playoffs.

Rounding out the roster are three outstanding forwards and one goaltender from the ECAC Northeast. Mass.-Dartmouth junior forward Kyle McCullough (Danvers, Mass.) led the Corsairs in scoring with 20 goals and 20 assists, including seven power play goals and three shorthanded tallies. Freshman forward Anthony Monte (Chicago, Ill.) led Nichols in scoring with 23 goals and 19 assists; the Bison earned their first playoff slot in the ECAC Northeast. Another freshman phenom, from Division II Stonehill, is Brendan O’Brien (Braintree, MA). He led Skyhawk scorers with ten goals and 32 assists as 14-10 Stonehill rolled to its second-highest win total ever. Jon Dryjowicz-Burek (Ludlow, Mass.) was a big factor in 16-4 Mass.-Dartmouth’s success. The freshman goaltender is first in the nation with a .943 save percentage, second in goals-against average (1.65) and tied for fourth with three shutouts.

“Without question, there has been some outstanding hockey played at the D-II and D-III levels this season, and we have seen some notable performers in each of the three leagues in New England,” said Concannon Award Committee Chairman Tim Costello. “In addition to proving themselves as superb athletes, each of the nominated players has exemplified sportsmanship and character in representing his team and institution. The committee’s final decision will not be an easy one. We will be very diligent in evaluating the final results to determine this year’s winner.”

The winner of the award will be announced in late March and the award presented at the New England Hockey Writers’ Dinner in April.

Joe Concannon Award Winners

2001: Keith Aucoin, Norwich
2002: Michael Carosi, Bowdoin
2003: Nick Stauder, Salem State
2004: Jim Pancyzkowski, Wesleyan; Michael O’Sullivan, Curry
2005: Brian Doherty, Curry; Joseph Ori: Trinity