St. Louis, Kansas City Get Ice Breakers

The season-opening Ice Breaker Tournament is headed for non-traditional locations in the 2010, 2011 and 2012 seasons. One of them, however, isn’t unfamiliar.

St. Louis’ Scottrade Center, site of the 2007 Frozen Four, will host the event in 2010 and 2011, while the Sprint Center in Kansas City, Mo., gets the tournament in 2012.

“We are very excited at the prospect of bringing our event to these outstanding venues,” said CCHA commissioner Tom Anastos, who also serves as president of the Hockey Commissioners Association, which puts on the event.

“We know that the commitments made by the two sports commissions will ensure a successful event and an appropriate launch to the 2010-2012 college hockey seasons.”

The 2009 tournament is scheduled for Omaha, Neb., and features host Nebraska-Omaha, Army, UMass Lowell and St. Lawrence.

The 2010 event will be the first away from a participating school’s home rink, with the exception of the 2007 tournament that Minnesota hosted at the Xcel Energy Center in nearby St. Paul, Minn.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here