16 semifinalists named for Joe Concannon Award

Twelve forwards, two defensemen and two goaltenders make up the group of 16 semifinalists for the Joe Concannon Award.

The Award, presented by the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston, is given to the best American-born college hockey player in New England playing at the Division II/III level.

“Without a doubt, this season has showcased an incredible level of competition as evidenced by the tight races and surprising game outcomes that have been seen each and every week of the season,” said Gridiron Club Hockey Awards Committee chairman Tim Costello.

“This season, more than any other, has forced the committee to consider many outstanding players in each of the leagues, but some unfortunately do not appear as semifinalists. Our committee believes this is as strong group of nominees ever selected for the award. It will take the few games of the regular season and conference tournaments to determine the most worthy player as this year’s recipient of the award.”

Sean Curran, forward, Connecticut College
Tom Derosa, forward, Tufts
P.T. Donato, forward, Babson
Jeff Fanning, forward, Bowdoin
Josh Harris, forward, Castleton
Skylur Jameson, forward, Wentworth
Jeremiah Ketts, forward, Johnson & Wales
Taylor Larsen, forward, Assumption (D-II)
Connor Olvany, forward, Williams
Billy Pescosolido, defenseman, Framingham State
Ryan Purdy, goaltender, Williams
Charlie Strauss, forward, Middlebury
Eric Tufman, forward, Massachusetts-Boston
Wes Vesprini, goaltender, Trinity
Ryan Warsofsky, defenseman, Curry
Daniel Weiniger, forward, Bowdoin

The Gridiron Club plans to announce the finalists and winner of the Concannon Award in March, prior to the start of the Frozen Four, and will present the award during the New England Hockey Writers dinner in mid-April.