New scheduling alliance announced for six women’s D-II schools

Six schools announced Tuesday the creation of a scheduling alliance for their women’s hockey programs, beginning with the 2017-18 school year.

Division I institutions Holy Cross and Sacred Heart will join Division II members Franklin Pierce, Post, St. Anselm and St. Michael’s to account for 20 of its contests next season, as all schools will meet four times during the regular season.

“We are excited about next year’s alliance, as it will provide our student-athletes with a highly competitive schedule against well-respected teams and familiar rivals,” said SMC coach Chris Donovan in a statement.

The six will also participate in a postseason tournament while student-athletes will be able to earn weekly honors throughout the season.

“With the announcement of this alliance, our program begins an exciting step forward in our young history,” Post coach Heath Isaacson added. “The 20-game schedule next season will allow us to challenge ourselves against well-established programs, along with playing for a year-end championship.”

The alliance will also sponsor a postseason tournament for all six institutions, with seeding based on regular-season standings. The league’s tournament will take place the week of Feb. 19 and will crown a champion on Sunday, Feb. 25, 2018.

A final and official 2017-18 schedule will be published at a later date once all games are solidified.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here