CCHA coaches, media agree with Notre Dame at No. 1

For just the second time in six years, the coaches and media agree on who should own the No. 1 position in the CCHA’s annual preseason polls.

Notre Dame received enough points from the conference’s 11 head coaches and 72 media members to be named the preseason favorite in both polls.

In the coaches poll, the Fighting Irish captured eight first-place votes and two seconds, while Miami took two first-place votes as well as five seconds to come in just nine points behind the favorite. Michigan had the remaining first-place vote to finish third with Western Michigan placing 10 points back at fourth. Alaska collected 63 total points to finish fifth.

The media also voted in favor of Notre Dame, with Miami coming in second and Michigan again rounding out the top three. The Irish picked up 44 of a possible 72 first-place votes, while the RedHawks garnered 16 and the Wolverines received 12 first-place votes. The Broncos and Nanooks finished fourth and fifth, respectively, in the media poll as well.

A total of 72 media members ranked the 11 CCHA teams in projected order of finish for the regular season. Points were awarded on an 11-10-9-8, etc., basis.

Complete polls below – coaches poll on top, media poll on bottom.

Team (First-place votes)Points
1. Notre Dame (8)108
2. Miami (2)99
3. Michigan (1)93
4. Western Michigan83
5. Alaska63
6. Northern Michigan60
7. Ohio State56
8. Michigan State51
9. Ferris State50
10. Lake Superior State30
11. Bowling Green22
Team (First-place votes)Points
1. Notre Dame (44)819
2. Miami (16)772
3. Michigan (12)757
4. Western Michigan604
5. Alaska449
6. Michigan State439
7. (tie) Ferris State425
7. (tie) Northern Michigan425
9. Ohio State386
10. Lake Superior State298
11. Bowling Green170

In addition, the CCHA announced its preseason all-conference teams.

Miami junior forward Reilly Smith and Notre Dame sophomore forward T.J. Tynan, last season’s CCHA rookie of the year, topped the voting, with each receiving the maximum of 50 points for a unanimous selection. Notre Dame sophomore forward Anders Lee joins Smith and Tynan as the other forward on the First Team. Michigan State junior defenseman Torey Krug, last season’s CCHA best offensive defenseman, and Michigan sophomore defenseman Jon Merrill each received nine first-place votes, tied for the second-highest total among all players. Miami senior goaltender Cody Reichard also makes his second consecutive appearance on the First Team.

Three players collected at least two first-place votes on the All-Conference Second Team. Alaska senior goaltender Scott Greenham (4), Western Michigan sophomore forward Chase Balisy (3) and Miami senior defenseman Chris Wideman (2) all secured spots on the Second Team. Northern Michigan senior forward Tyler Gron and Michigan senior forward David Wohlberg earned the other two forward spots on the second team. Senior defenseman Will Weber from Miami accompanies Wideman on the blueline as the second defenseman.