Boston College’s Carpenter, Minnesota’s Brandt lead top 10 Patty Kazmaier Award finalists

Boston College’s Alex Carpenter was the 2015 Patty Kazmaier Award winner and can be the first to repeat if she wins in 2016 (photo: Melissa Wade).

The USA Hockey Foundation announced Thursday the 10 finalists for the 2016 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award.

The honor is awarded annually upon the top player in NCAA Division I women’s hockey and this year will be unveiled at a brunch ceremony at Wentworth By The Sea in New Castle, N.H., on Saturday, March 19, as part of the NCAA Women’s Frozen Four weekend hosted by New Hampshire.

In early February, the selection process began when NCAA Division I women’s hockey coaches were asked to nominate players for the award. Players who were nominated by two or more coaches were then placed on an official ballot, which was sent back to the coaches to vote for the top 10 finalists.

Player's NamePositionClassSchool
Shelby Amsley-BenzieGSr.North Dakota
Hannah BrandtFSr.Minnesota
Dani CameranesiFJr.Minnesota
Alex CarpenterFSr.Boston College
Kendall CoyneFSr.Northeastern
Ann-Renee DesbiensGJr.Wisconsin
Megan KellerDSo.Boston College
Kelsey KoelzerDJr.Princeton
Annie PankowskiFSo.Wisconsin
Haley SkarupaFSr.Boston College

The three finalists, including the recipient of the award, will be chosen by a 13-person selection committee made up of NCAA Division I women’s hockey coaches, representatives of print and broadcast media, an at-large member and representative of USA Hockey.

Brandt has been a top-10 finalist all four years of her NCAA career and Carpenter has a chance to become the first player to repeat as the winner and the second to win the award twice (Harvard’s Jennifer Botterill, 2001 and 2003).

The top three finalists will be announced on Thursday, March 3.